Main Content


In light of the state of Illinois’s budget impasse in FY 2016, the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), SIU Carbondale’s regional accrediting body, requested a brief report on how the university is managing its own budget. About 20 percent of SIUC’s operating expenses are normally covered by its state allocation. Without that support since July 1, 2015, the university — like all public higher education in Illinois — has taken steps to protect its core educational mission. SIUC’s report to the HLC in February 2016 is now publicly available to the university’s many stakeholders, including faculty, staff, and students. Everyone needs access to this information. See report.

NCA Accreditation Self-Study

In March 2010, a team of consultant-evaluators was sent by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association (NCA), our regional accrediting agency, to consider SIU's application for a ten-year renewal of our accreditation. The work of preparing for this reaccreditation review began in earnest in the spring of 2006, and a Steering Committee with representation from across the university oversaw the work of five subcommittees, charged with researching and drafting chapters of our self-study report, which was presented to the review team in advance of their site visit.

The links on the left side of this page will take you to the pages for these five subcommittees, formed around the five criteria for accreditation established by the NCA. A public draft of our entire self-study report was available for comment in spring 2010.

 Focused Visit Report Steering Committee:

Laurie Achenbach, Chapters One and Eight, Report Coordinator and Chair; Allan Karnes, Chapter Two; Meera Komarraju, Chapter Three; Tamara Workman, Chapter Four; Holly Hurlburt and Sue Rimmer, Chapter Five; Suzanne Altobello, Chapter Six; Linda McCabe Smith, Chapter Seven; Jim Allen, Editing; Suzanne McCrary, Formatting, Webmaster

Focused Visit Site Preparations Committee

Jim Allen, Chair; Laurie Achenbach; Anne Cooper Moore; Ruth O’Rourke; Tiffany Spencer; George Vineyard